Bug Out Bag – Get Home Bag

Today we will take a look at the Get Home Bag, This should be part of your normal car kit and is designed to get you home in the event of an emergency. This kit should be lightweight and contain enough gear to get you home from the most common distances you normally travel. For me this is commonly no more than 30 miles from my home. Beyond this distance I would supplement this with my BOB. This is  a lighter weight version of my survival kit that I carry in a non-tactical bag. I advise against military style pack  for this use I would add to this any of my EDC items that would be useful.

Shelter
  • Survival Blanket (2) – Remember these need to be replaced periodically as they get brittle with age.
  • 39 gallon trash bags (2) – Many uses including emergency rain gear
  • Rain poncho
Miscellaneous
  • 550 Paracord (50′ to 100′) My personal favorite for lashing together a shelter. It has multiple strands so it can be broken down for different uses.
  • Cotton Bandanna (1)- Can be used for straining water before boiling plus many other uses.
  • Headlamp with spare batteries
  • Fixed blade knife – Choose a full tang with a carbon steel blade
  • Multitool – I use a Leatherman Supertool  that I have had for many years.
  • Sharpening stone
  • Map and compass and/ or GPS
  • Paracord Bracelet – I wear one most of the time
  • Cash – 90 dollars in bills and 10 dollars in quarters. In a grid down situation you won’t have much luck using a credit or debit card.
  • Clean socks – Nothing better than a pair of fresh socks after a long day of walking.
  • TP
  • Hand Sanitizer
Signaling
  • Whistle
Fire Starting Kit
  • Match Safe
  • Ferrocerium rod
  • Disposable lighter
  • Tinder – (dryer lint and Vaseline, char cloth, cotton balls etc.)
  • Magnesium bar
  • Foil Nuggets
First Aid Kit
  • Bandaids – Various sizes
  • Gauze pads – Various Sizes
  • First Aid Cream
  • Ace Bandage
  • Ibuprofen
  • Imodium
  • Antihistamine tablets – for allergic reactions
  • EMT Scissors
  • Tweezers
Food
  • Food packs (3 Days) Click here for DIY MRE’s.
Water
  • Stainless steel water bottle or canteen
  • Water filtration ( Lifestraw, Katadyn, Sawyer etc.)

The primary purpose of this kit is to get me home where my plan is to shelter in place for most emergencies. In the 51 years I have lived in this area I have never had to evacuate for a storm.  This is more gear than I probably need but I would rather have too much gear than not enough. In most situations walking at 2 miles per hour I could get home in 6 hours or less. The only reason I would walk  is in the event of something like an EMP where my car was disabled other than that would either drive or get a ride.

 
Free Shipping over $25 w/ code: EARTH at Medical Supply Depot! (Valid on 4/22/15 until 11:59pm)

Wal-Mart.com USA, LLC

Leave a Reply

