Product Review – White House Canning Vinegar

canning vinegar

I feel that raising and canning your own food should be part of your food storage and long term survival plans. With this in mind I will be reviewing new canning related items. Todays review is  for White Hose Foods Canning Vinegar. This vinegar was an impulse buy at my local supermarket. It is garlic dill flavored and makes pickling very easy. The cost was $3.19 a bottle and is enough to make 4 quarts of pickles. I then purchased enough cucumbers at my local Sam’s Club to make a gallon of dill pickles. The instructions are as follows:

  1. In a non reactive pot, add 32 ounces of Canning Vinegar.
  2. Add 32 ounces of water. Add 4 tablespoons of canning salt.
  3. Stir occasionally. Bring to a boil.
  4. Use caution contents will be hot.
  5. Using hot mixture, follow your favorite canning method remembering to adjust canning time for your part of the country.

I let the sealed jars set for two weeks in my pantry to let the flavors develop. We served them for Easter dinner yesterday and they were a big hit. They have a very nice garlic dill flavor and had a nice texture. They are also easy to make and the vinegar was a good value at $3.19. During the summer I grow a large quantity of cucumbers so I would not have to purchase those. You end up with a gallon of pickles for less than the cost of one jar of dill pickles at my local market. I recommend this product to anyone who likes dill pickles and wants to can their own. If your local market doesn’t carry this product you can order it here.

Medical Supply Depot

2 responses to “Product Review – White House Canning Vinegar

  1. I do not see on the bottle anywhere is it also 5% acidity? Thank you

    Like

Leave a Reply

