Sunday on the Homefront: Possible Food Forest

Goldenrod Homestead

Hey Everyone!

1024px-Forgard2-003

Well, it’s official. If we get the house, Justin and I will be starting work on our own Edible Forest Garden. What started as a thought to use the abandoned acre on our future home turned into something better, much better. I have been diligently researching, checking out books and reading everything I can get my hands on. I have watched multiple documentaries on forest gardens, read at least half of 3 textbooks on the subject (I’m still working on it) and have planned ways to afford this venture. It’s looking extremely possible. However, I am not following permaculture rules (like the picture above might suggest). I’m not looking for a permaculture garden, I’m trying to build something that will run itself, with minimal work, after some time. I’m trying to build an ecosystem of native plants (and maybe some exotics) that will be able to sustain themselves…

View original post 421 more words

Leave a Reply

