The 72 Hour Survival Game

Today I thought I would share an interesting graphic I found on Pinterest from the Blue Collar Prepper.  Here is the image with my choices and score after the image. To make the graphic easier to view zoom in to 75% on the view tab in your browser after clicking on the image.
72 hour game

Category Item Weight (pounds) Survival Points Time Mod.(hours)
Water Purifying Tablets 1 3 0
Water Lifestraw 2 5 +2
Food 3 MRE’s 3 0 -3
Food Datrex Bars 2 0 -2
Shelter 2 Survival Blankets 1 0 -2
Shelter Survival Hatchet 2 3 0
Shelter 100 ft. paracord 1 3 0
Defense 9mm Glock w/ ammo 5 5 0
Defense AR-15 w/ammo 15 5 0
Other Survival Knife 1 3 0
Other First Aid Kit 2 5 0
Other Fire Starter 1 5 0
Other Change of cloths 3 3 0
Other Survival Handbook 1 3 0
Totals 40 43 -5

According to the instructions my  modified time to reach the bug out location is 82 hours. My score upon arrival is 41 points (my gear score minus the 2 point penalty for taking an extra 10 hours to reach my location). I arrive late but am better equipped than most to survive indefinitely once there. While I may not agree with everything in the chart it was a fun exercise to do on a cold, snowy New England afternoon.

Leave a Reply

